Daily Archives: July 19, 2013

“The Boswell Sisters: Close Harmony” — show my buddy some love

BoswellHey, there, my wonderful and loyal readers.  This isn’t something I do very often, but one of my co-workers is working on a very cool documentary project that’s looking for funding over at Kickstarter right now.  I’ll let the folks that are working on it describe it:

After many years of dreaming and research and pre-production and anticipation, this hour-long, public television documentary about the jazz vocalists, Connie, Martha, and Helvetia “Vet” Boswell, is ready to become a reality — but only if you join us in our Kickstarter campaign.

Ever since the trio retired from show business in 1936 there have been all too infrequent resurgences of interest in their work. Their devoted admirers have continued to sing the praises of this truly revolutionary music over the years, but now the Sisters are about to experience a real Renaissance with the opening of a major exhibit at The Historic New Orleans Collection, the completion of a book about their lives and career, and the premiere of this film. So for those who already know and love their unique and unrepeatable “close harmony” style, as well as those who are about to be forever changed by the experience of hearing their first Boswell Sisters songs, it’s high time for celebration … once we’ve reached our $24,800 goal.

Or, as Connie, Martha, and Vet would sing, “Let’s spend it, lend it, send it rolling right along!”

I dug out my calculator, and I figured that if all of you awesome cats that have subscribed to this humble blog head on over there and donate $5.00, they’ll have this project funded and then some.  So if you’re of the mind to help out some very nice (and talented) people who are doing a documentary about some other very nice (and talented) people, you should head on over to their Kickstarter page.  Tell them I sent you.  My buddy Randall will be most appreciative, as will I.  Who knows?  Maybe some day he’ll do a documentary about this blog as a thank you, and we all know we want to see that.  Right?  Hello?

Tagged , , , , , ,