Radio XXVII, side A, track 4: “Dial My Heart” by The Boys

The Boys - Dial My HeartOh, The Boys, I’m sure this wasn’t the vibe that you wanted to be puttin’ out there, but good lord were you adorable.  I don’t know what it was about this song, The Boys, but I fell in love with it the first time I heard it and would end up taping it several times during my taping career.  Maybe it’s just the fact that most of you were younger than me and singing with such sweet bravado to some girl and asking her to dial you up any time.  And not just dial you, but dial your heart.  If a grown-up sang “Just dial my heart”, I would have laughed them off the stage along with everyone else, but when a ten-year-old’s singing it, it’s cute as hell.

There’s just something about the sweet naivete of youth, when kids are saying stuff like “I won’t sleep until you’re by my side” (although I don’t know how I feel about you guys singing about how you want to put your arms around a girl and feel her, let’s slow down, guys), like when we were kids and would play wedding or when I’d tell my parents that I wanted to marry one of my cousins because I thought she was so great.  When you’re kids, maybe a little bit younger than you guys, The Boys, you can stay stuff like that and people cock their heads to the side and say “Awww, that’s so cute!”  I’m not sure where the cut-off is where cousin-marrying and tea parties become verboten, but let’s say 7 years old.

It’s weird, The Boys, there are a lot of things that just feel like they’re intrinsic knowledge at this point, but thinking back, I don’t know exactly when I learned that marrying my cousin was not an option or that you can’t just run around trying to kiss all the girls, but it seems like I should know that; those are pretty important lessons that have served me well over the years.  Maybe it’s best we just stop talking about this, The Boys, as I’m realizing that I spent most of this post talking about marrying cousins.  Good lord. . .

“Dial My Heart”

<awesome The Boys jam>

When I think about ya, baby

I want you here

I wanna put my arms around you

And feel you, dear

You have touched my heart, I’m so
In love

You’re the only girl I’m thinkin’ of
Ooo

I call my baby on the phone
Got ta get a message just ta let her know
That if she ever feels alone
To dial my heart

And if by chance you’re not at home
You can reach me, baby, by the nearest pay phone, I gotta cross my fingers and pray you’ll know
To dial my heart

Dial my heart

Just dial my heart

Yeah, yeeeeeah

<awesome The Boys jam>

Can we talk about it, baby
Do ya have the time

I said am I the only homeboy

That’s on your mind
Woo!
‘Cause I’m alone and I can’t sleep at night
And I won’t sleep until you’re by my side
Yeeeah

I call my baby on the phone (call my baby)
Got ta get a message just ta let her know (let her know)
That if she ever feels alone
To dial my heart (baby I’m waitin’ on you)
And if by chance you’re not at home
You can reach me, baby, by the nearest pay phone (dial my heart), I gotta cross my fingers and pray you’ll know
To dial my heart (woo!)

Just dial my heart

You
Can
Dial
My heeart

Just dial my heart

Woo!

<awesome The Boys jam>

I call my baby on the phone (call my baby)
Got ta get a message just ta let her know (let her know)
That if she ever feels alone
To dial my heart

And if by chance you’re not at home (I’ve just got to letcha know, that I’ll never letcha go)
You can reach me, baby, by the nearest pay phone, I gotta cross my fingers and pray you’ll know (call me when you have the time, baby won’t you please be mine)
To dial my heart
I call my baby on the phone (call my baby)
Got ta get a message just ta let her know (let her know)
That if she ever feels alone
To dial my heart (just dial it, baby)

And if by chance you’re not at home (dial it, dial it)
You can reach me, baby, by the nearest pay phone (dial it, baby, dial it), I gotta cross my fingers and pray you’ll know (dial it, dial it)
To dial my heart (dial it, baby)

Don’t matter where ya are, if you’re near or far
All you gotta do is just dial my heart
Let’s talk about it, baby, on the telephone
Call me, baby
You’ll never be alone

Dial it
Dial it
Dial it, baby, dial it (just dial my heart)
Dial it
Dial it
Dial it, baby
You’ll never be alone

I call my baby on the phone
Got ta get a message just ta let her know (got to, gotta, gotta, gotta)
That if she ever feels alone
To dial my heart (just dial it, baby)
(Baby, I’m waitin’ on you)
And if by chance you’re not at home (dial it)
You can reach me, baby, by the nearest pay phone (dial my heart), I gotta cross my fingers and pray you’ll know (dial it)
To dial my heart

Dial it!

You can dial it anytime (just dial my heart)

You can dial my heart

(Just dial my heart)

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Radio XXVII, side A, track 4: “Dial My Heart” by The Boys

  1. Nailmattic says:

    Damn son I was just listening to this song just a few songs ago on my playlist… good tunes!!

    Like

  2. […] The Boys, yes, it’s true.  I recorded this one twice on the same tape.  If I’m remembering correctly, I’m pretty sure I actually recorded this one again on […]

    Like

  3. […] The Boys, since I’ve already talked about this song a couple of times already, today’s post is going to be devoted to the importance of being Ernest.  No, I’m not […]

    Like

  4. […] with some good singing, I’m just saying that this song wasn’t much different from “Dial My Heart” by The Boys, and those guys were like nine years […]

    Like

I totally have an opinion on this!