Radio 83, side B, track 4: “Don’t Stand So Close To Me” by The Police

The Police - Don't Stand So Close To MeOh, The Police, I was going to spend a little bit of time writing about how I actually prefer your ’86 remix, which was the first version I ever heard, because the tone of it is much more fitting with the subject matter.  The original is just too playful for a song about statutory rape.  Then I read part of an interview Sting did about this song:

“I’d done teaching practice at secondary schools and been through the business of having 15-year-old girls fancying me – and me really fancying them! How I kept my hands off them I don’t know…”

Ugh.  Seriously.  Ugh.  “How I kept my hands off them I don’t know”.  So yeah, I’m kinda done with y’all.  It does make more sense why the original version was so upbeat, though.  But forevermore, I’m not going to be able to shake the sick feeling I have of knowing that this song has some really shady roots.  Thanks a lot, The Police.  I was looking forward to hearing more of your songs on here, but now I’m hoping we don’t get anymore so I don’t get that uck feeling in my gut thinking about y’all.

lyrics to “Don’t Stand So Close To Me”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Radio 83, side B, track 4: “Don’t Stand So Close To Me” by The Police

  1. […] if you need a reminder about how I feel about y’all, you can reference back to the post on “Don’t Stand So Close To Me”.  That is […]

    Like

  2. […] me some internal moral debates.  Like the Scorpions and their “Virgin Killer” album.  Or Sting struggling to keep his hands off 15-year-old girls.  Or all of “Hot Child In The City”.  And these are just the examples that spring […]

    Like

I totally have an opinion on this!