Radio 66, side B, track 12: “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” by Pat Benatar

Pat Benatar - Hit Me With Your Best ShotOh, Pat Benatar, here’s another song that I knew all about when I recorded it off the radio.  Not because I’d heard your version before, but because I’d heard the Chipmunk version.  Before I recorded this, I had no idea that there was a lyric about your lipstick case.  In the version I knew, it was about charming you with my charm and grace before another chipmunk comes to take my place.  I know, Pat Benatar, maybe it doesn’t have quite the same emotional impact, BUT I have to say, thanks to “Chipmunk Rock”, I was already really well-versed in early ’80s awesome rock.

lyrics to “Hit Me With Your Best Shot”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Radio 66, side B, track 12: “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” by Pat Benatar

  1. […] just now, but I was introduced to not one but two of your songs by The Chipmunks.  The first was “Hit Me With Your Best Shot”.  You clearly had to be popular if you had Alvin and company singing two of your songs on […]

    Like

  2. […] time we talked about this song, it was a discussion of how the first version I heard of this one was by The Chipmunks.  Which seems appropriate, because unbeknownst to me, because of the nature of cassette tapes, […]

    Like

I totally have an opinion on this!